Blog Post

News from us
13 August 2018

APC wins Katsina, Bauchi Senate seats

The All Progressives Congress (APC) won the Katsina North Senatorial seat, Bauchi South Senatorial seat and the Lokoja/Kogi House of Representatives seat contested at the weekend.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won the Cross River State House of Assembly seat.

All are by-elections held to fill vacancies created as a result of the death of occupants. The elections were conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Alhaji Ahmed Babba-Kaita won the Katsina North Senatorial District.

Returning officer Prof Hudu Ayuba-Abdullahi announced the result at 4:42 am in Daura, the senatorial headquarters. The APC candidate defeated the PDP candidate in all the 12 local councils that make up the district.

Kaita, a member of the House of Representatives, scored 224,607 votes, while his elder brother and a retired customs officer, Alhaji Kabir Babba Kaita of PDP, scored 59,724 votes

Ayuba-Abdullahi said the total number of registered voters was 864,046.  The number of accredited voters was 308,500.

According to him, the total votes cast was 294,050, out of which 287,155 votes were counted as valid and 10,891 rejected.

Six political parties contested the seat, which became vacant after the death of Senator Bukar Mustapha.

Other parties that took part in the election are: Democratic Alliance (DA), Green Party of Nigeria (GPN), Masses Movement of Nigeria (MMN) and MPN.

GPN scored 1056, DA 796, MPN 633 and MMN 343 votes.

Katsina North Senatorial District is the home district of President Muhammadu Buhari.

APC candidate Lawan Gumau won the Bauchi South Senatorial District By-election.

Returning Officer Prof. Ahmed Sarkin-Pagam said Gumau scored 119,489 votes to defeat eight other contestants, among them former Governor Isa Yuguda of the Green Party of Nigeria (GPN) who polled 33,079 votes.

Other candidates: Haruna Ayuba of ADC (1754 Votes); Aminu Tukur of APP (11,717 votes); Usman Hassan of KP (240 votes) and Huseini Umar of NNPP (22,896 votes).

Usman Chaledi of PDC (1203 votes); Ladan Salihu of PDP, (50,256 votes) and Mrs Maryam Begel of SDP (3,800 votes).

He said a total of 256,763 votes were cast, out of which 245,652 were valid and 11,111 invalid.

The election was held in the seven local government areas in the senatorial district.

The APC won in six of the seven local governments

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won in only Bogoro Local Government Area, the home local government of House of Representatives Spekaer Yakubu Dogara.

Dogara is estranged with the APC but he is yet to defect from the party. With the outcome of the by-election, APC in Bauchi now has only one senator because the other two – Isa Misau and Nazif Gamawa – formerly of the APC, have defected to the PDP.

The APC candidate Alhaji Haruna Isah won the Lokoja/Kogi House of Representatives by-election.

Returning Officer Prof. Rotimi Ajayi, said Isah polled 26, 860 votes to defeat Alhaji Bashir Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 14, 845 votes.

Ahmed Imam of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) scored 2, 916 votes, while the candidates of the Accord Party and African Democratic Congress (ADC) scored 149 votes and 2,984 votes.

The Labour Party scored 90 votes; Democratic Alternative scored 159 votes; while Megga Party of Nigeria scored 50 votes.

He said that 19,960 votes from 17 polling units were cancelled due to violence and other malpractices. 15 of the affected polling units were in Lokoja Local Government Area, while two were from Kogi Local Government Area.

51, 669 voters were accredited for the election while only 50,036 cast their votes.

According to him, valid votes are 48,165, while rejected votes are 1,871.

The by-election was conducted to fill the vacancy created by the death of Umar Buba Jibrin on March 30. Jibrin was also of the APC.

The candidate of the PDP Mrs Abbey Ukpukpen won the Obudu State Constituency by-election into the Cross River House of Assembly.

Mrs Abbey Ukpukpen, who works with the University of Calabar, is the widow of a member of the Assembly, Stephen Ukpukpen, who died in May.

The State Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) Dr Frankland Briyai announced the result in Obudu.

The PDP candidate scored 12,712 votes to beat Mr Ishamali Bendel, of the APC who scored 4,345 votes.

Other results are: Awafang Angiating of Mega Party of Nigeria (MPN), (132 votes) and Agwupuye Umeka of African Democratic Party (ADP) (114 votes)

“Total valued votes 17,303; rejected votes 607; total votes cast 17,910; total number of registered voters 69,908


Leave a Reply